Skip to content
Back to Homepage

How do I change Astroneer server settings?

When you rent an Astroneer dedicated server, all of your world configurations—from server names to passwords and save files—are stored in the AstroServerSettings.ini file. Managing your universe is simple with the AleForge control panel, but you must always stop your server before making edits so your changes are applied successfully.

  1. Log into the AleForge Panel and Stop your Astroneer dedicated server.
  2. Head to the Backups tab and create a quick manual backup, just in case you want to revert your changes later.
  3. Navigate to Files and open the following directory pathway: Astro/Saved/Config/WindowsServer/.
  4. Click to edit the AstroServerSettings.ini file and adjust the specific values you need (see the table below).
  5. Click Save Content, then start your server to apply the new rules to your universe.
Setting What it does
ServerName The internal name stored for your Astroneer server.
ServerAdvertisedName The public name displayed to players in the in-game server list.
ServerPassword Your join password. Leave this field completely blank to host a public server without a password. See how to set a password.
ConsolePassword The admin password for accessing the in-game console. (Note: This does not lock the server or prevent players from joining).
OwnerName The exact Steam username of the server admin/owner. See how to set the owner.
ActiveSaveFileDescriptiveName The specific world save to load on boot. Only use the text before the $ in the filename. See how to upload a save.
AutoSaveGameInterval The time (in seconds) between automatic world saves.
BackupSaveGamesInterval The time (in seconds) between the game’s internal backup creations.
DenyUnlistedPlayers Set to true to act as a whitelist, automatically blocking any players who are not on the server’s allowed list.

Can’t find the configuration file? If this is a brand-new Astroneer dedicated server, start the server once to allow it to generate the default configuration files, stop it, and check the folder again.