Skip to content
Back to Homepage

What Happens When I Stop My Pay-as-You-Go Server?

When you are finished with your gaming session, you can safely stop your pay-as-you-go server from the AleForge Panel. Stopping your server is the best way to pause most billing while ensuring your world stays exactly where you left it.

When the server is stopped, all RAM and CPU charges halt the exact minute the server powers off. However, disk space continues to bill because it is actively storing your world files. Additionally, any database or backup slot that remains actively in use will continue to bill. Empty database or backup slots will remain at $0.

To stop your server and halt CPU/RAM billing, you must use the standard Stop button in the control panel.

Do not attempt to switch the server to another product, and do not purchase the Server Pause add-on. The “Server Pause” feature is exclusively designed for standard monthly hosting plans, not pay-as-you-go services.

If you are planning an extended break and want to avoid all ongoing disk charges, you should retrieve a local copy of your files. You can download a folder or set up an automated backup directly to your machine. Please note that free system backups are not charged, but they are internally managed and are not a copy you can download on demand.

When you are ready to resume your campaign, simply click start on the server. RAM and CPU billing will automatically resume from that exact minute.